Men occupy most of the top-level jobs. Should government reserve more jobs for women? Give your opinion.

The top-level jobs are mostly held by men. While there are few women who have achieved the highs in their respective careers, the number of such examples are very few. This begs the question - should the government reserve some spots at the executive level for women. In my view, this should be determined by the caliber of the individual, rather than considering their gender. If we look into this more closely, we find that the most successful companies' top-level executives are mostly men. For instance, Google, Microsoft, Facebook, Amazon have all men on the driving seat when it comes to decision making and setting a direction for their companies. We do have few women pulling the strings of some of the industries. A good example is the CEO of Pepsico and IBM, are both headed by women pioneers. There are a few examples, where women are the presidents of some of the countries around the world. Does this mean the government should actively reserve certain jobs for women? No. The jobs, especially the ones that require critical and strategic decision making, should not be reserved for any specific gender. Instead, women do need to be encouraged to pursue education and follow their passion, and if this means setting aside a few slots for them in educational institutions, that still makes some sense. But when they enter the professional arena, one should be judged and promoted based on the skills and talents they possess. A small decision that an individual being at such a level has more cascading effects down the line, impacting every aspect of the industry. A minor setback in this competitive world can potentially knock them off from the race. Thus, while it is true that most of the top executives are men, women should be given an equal platform to showcase their skills and take men head-on, but setting aside few jobs specifically for women may prove to be detrimental.