Men do most of the high-level jobs. Should the government encourage a certain percentage of these jobs to be reserved for women? What is your opinion on that? Use your own knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

I believe, the government has the biggest responsibility regarding fair job distribution. Therefore, it is in charge of assuring jobs, and equal opportunities for both men and women. Although, the male gender represents most of the work force. Also, business companies, especially the private ones, are not very keen on hiring women, because they see them as a liability. Firstly, we should take in consideration, that men occupy more job positions than women. Hence, it should could as no surprise that it is more likely for men to get promoted and occupy high-level jobs. For example, most companies like to hire people who do not pose many objections in matters like traveling abroad for a business meeting, or working late nights. While men usually have no problem with such things, women tend to decline job offers that involve such risks, or demand some sort of monetary compensation. On the other hand, it is a pure discrimination to not hire a person of a certain gender, just because the other one presents less of an economic risk. Most employers also do not hire many young women, because they can get pregnant, and therefore it will result in them missing more work days on maternity leave, resulting in a decrease in rentability. For instance, if an employer cannot decide who to promote between a man and a woman, and both of them are equally matched, chances are that the promotion will be given to the man, since, he is more likely not to miss as many work days. In my opinion, both genders should deserve the same respect and opportunities. However, hiring employees of the male gender presents less of a risk, and therefore because they are greater number they are more likely to achieve jobs of greater importance. Yet, in order to balance the scale, the government should ensure that at least, one of these very important jobs, is given to a deserving woman, despite not being the most profitable solution. Such a measure is already being executed in Portugal.