Memorising facts is the most important way to succeed in education

Rote learning is considered the most important measure to reach academic achievement. I completely disagree with this idea. On the one hand, it is true that heart learning can be a way to achieve a great result in some fields such as history and language. These fields rely on the memorisation of historical events or grammars. Moreover, many subjects might not require students to memorise too many details, but many foundations of knowledge are acquired through rote learning. For example, students who are studying in fine arts have to know the principle of the colour mixing and attribute of the pigment and dye, which are learnt by memorising. On the other hand, memorization is essential, but there are many other key facts in learning. Firstly, fields, such as arts and engineering, are looking forward to practices and creativity from students. Firstly, although an artistic student needs an abundance of knowledge about colour, pigment and related material, the real success is made by their talent for colour or through endless practices. Secondly, becoming a successful engineer, students need not only plough through the learning but also have extraordinary ideas and lateral thinking. Steve Jobs would be a good example. Steve Jobs didn't finish his education in the university, but he earned an astonishing achievement in the field of computer science by his creative ideas. All in all, memorization might be one of the important facts to reach academic achievement, but there are many other attributes, such as creativity, hardworking, are considered the most important for education.