Telling the truth at all times is not essential. On some occasions it is necessary to tell lies, and it is wrong to tell the truth. with this statement?

It is argued that sometimes it is better to lie in order to be on the safe side. There are some occasions for sure, where a person is forced to tell lies, in order to save himself, but I do not agree with it completely. I believe truth prevails in the end, most of the times. I disagree slightly with this notion that telling the truth all the times is not essential. As they say truth prevails in the end. For example; A husband had many love affairs in the past. If he doesn't tell his wife about it, if his wife asks about it, it will create an environment of mistrust between the two. If the husband openly shares it with his wife, it will hurt the wife for the time being, but with time she will be encouraged by the fact that her husband does not hide things from her. It will strengthen their relation. Therefore, I will always prefer telling the truth all the times. In my opinion, there are some occasions where a person is forced to lie. I would agree a bit over here that sometimes it can help. I would still not prefer it though. For example; if a burglar tries to rob a house, where he asks the owner on gun point about hidden money, this is an occasion where he can lie to be on the safe side, because if he speaks the truth then all his hidden money will be gone. In conclusion, it is better to try to speak the truth almost everytime, but when it comes to humans safety, one is forced to lie on some occasions.