Marriages are bigger and more expensive nowadays than in the past. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

The quality of education plays an integral role in one's success in the life. Nowadays, the majority of the educational institutions are focused on imparting academic knowledge only. To a certain extent, I agree with the statement that vocational skills should be taught more in the colleges. However, we cannot ignore the importance of academic studies. This essay will discuss both the views First of all, the pattern of the academic courses should be changed with the time. They should focus more on the skill based studies. For example, there are many vocational courses such as plumbing, cooking, electrician or web designing, which can help the student in getting a job. Secondly, Skill based study can prepare students better for industrial jobs. In industry, the skills are more valued than academic achievements. In the other words, the academic milestones alone cannot help a student in getting employed. Hence, one should motivate educational bodies in including skill oriented courses in the curriculum. On the other hand, the academic studies play a vital role in one's career. For instance, these courses help in in enhancing the aptitude and the verbal abilities of an individual which can be beneficial in many ways. Moreover, an employer always looks for good academic grades and achievements while hiring an employee. So, equal weightage should be given to the academic studies. To conclude, the skill based study is the demand of today's time. Educational institutions like colleges should motivate students in gaining the vocational skills apart from the academic studies. It is predicted that in future, more emphasis should be laid on skills rather than grades.