Marriages are bigger and more expensive nowadays than in the past. Why is this the case? Is it a negative or positive development?

Modern times have shown popularity for larger scale weddings, incurring high costs compared to weddings organised in the past. The reasons for this trend will be analysed as well as why it can be seen as both beneficial and harmful to society. One of the main reasons for spending money on such extravagant weddings is that people want a memorable and special day. A marriage is considered very important in many cultures and it is imperative that the day symbolises this fact by any means possible. Such an occasion brings family and friends together to share this special event in their lives so there is a lot of pressure to impress their guests. Furthermore, external factors from our society and within the media, influence people’s perception of how a wedding should be conducted. Ideas of fairytale style weddings and romantic stories from real-life celebrity weddings, heighten our sensation and lust for mind-blowing weddings. It can be incredibly satisfying for couples to imitate such lavishness and special treatment as a mark of social status, wealth and importance. However, such an investment into weddings can pose detrimental effects for young married couples. It is common for financial problems to occur, such as finding funds to mortgage a new home. Many couples would need to save money for the future and consider the needs of starting a family. Expenses such as childcare, education and paying bills would be an obstacle for many new families. These vital and necessary expenditures are seen as priorities for thrifty couples who choose to have smaller scale and inexpensive weddings. A wedding lasts for only a day compared to a lifetime of money troubles. However, the media and external influences place pressure on many couples to host such large weddings, which inevitably causes many couples to come into severe debt. In conclusion, luxurious and large scale weddings satisfy people’s need to mark a special occasion, but to also experience being as important as a star on their special day. However, this could bring couples endless financial worries for the future.