Marriages are bigger and more expensive nowadays than in the past. Why is this the case? Is it a negative or positive development?

In this modern era, in many parts of the world, wedding ceremonies have become huge and highly expensive in comparison to the past. The underlying reasons for adopting these events are various, and in my view, this is considered to be a negative trend. There are two main explanations for making tremendous wedding events. Firstly, the financial status of modern people has been improved. That is to say, more money would be available for expenditure, especially for marriage than those from previous generations. As a result, many people want to create a memorable wedding day without paying attention to the expenses. Secondly and more importantly, advanced technology has a tremendous effect. This is due to the development of the wedding industry, many specialized companies want to do marketing and sell their items to couples. For example, the swan wedding company in Baghdad makes huge marriage preparations, and it posts their photos through the internet which has a great influence on young couples, this opportunity was not available in the past. From my perspective, the huge wedding events could affect negatively. Many couples have to borrow money to make such events. For instance, some couples in Iraq have to take a loan from the bank for making marriage party. Thus, they could undergo financial problems with the beginning of their life because they have to pay back all these expenditures. Moreover, these huge rituals put married couples under psychological pressure. This is because they have to make a lengthy preparation that may extend for weeks. Therefore, it is not only put them under stress but also affect their mental health In conclusion, the widespread adoption of huge marriage could be attributed to an increase in financial statues and the wedding industry, and it seems to me that this phenomenon is negative due to financial and psychological pressure.