It is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people than that of young people in many countries in the future? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that the population of the elderly will overcome the youth population in some years from now in different parts of the world. I completely believe that this trend is detrimental to societies. It is undeniable that when the number of old people is increasing, nations are being faced with a great decline in their population growth, which means a large number of people are unable to undertake great responsibilities in their economic. In other words, if the population of the elderly become more than the youngers, governments are prone to the scarcity of enough individuals working in the industrial projects because most of the old have been retired. That is why these nations are compelled to provide their essential workforce from overseas where people have different cultures and languages, so they should also invest money in training migrants so that they can adapt to living circumstances of their societies. What is more, the countries in which the old generations are rising compared with the young ones, they are more likely to be exposed to financial crises, such as economic recession, and rising inflation, since governments should pay pension to the old citizens as well as provide health care facilities for them, while the number of youth who ought to pay taxes to supply the cost of living for the elderly is not sufficient. Others, however, would argue that decreasing the youth population can have positive impacts on communities. This group believes that this development can help governments to reduce their national budgets for building new accommodations, preventing the destruction of the environment from invading humans to expend cities. As a result, those nations can allocate their budgets to other important sectors, including health and education. I, nevertheless, think that rising the number of old citizens compared with young ones means lack of skilled and fresh workforce to handle the economic problems of a nation, so although this progress can bring environmental benefits, it can cause irreparable damage to countries in the long run. In conclusion, it seems to me that the old population growth in a number of countries can lead to several drawbacks not only from economic issues but also from social ones.