Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Many people believe that it is optional for university students to choose their majors. By contrast, others think that subjects such as science and technology, which are expected to be valuable in the future should be students’ choices. This essay will discuss both viewpoints; however, I am more in favour of the former opinion. There are reasons why people hold a belief that students should select core subjects to study in university. In sectors which will expect accelerating trends in the future such as technology, there are plenty of job opportunities and career prospects. Students who choose to study these subjects will therefore stand a better chance of being employed and no worries have to be made on the problem of unemployment after graduation, which is a pressing problem most graduates have to encounter these days. However, I am of the opinion that students should independently make their own choices of courses to study. First and foremost, when they are allowed to choose what they like, they will learn the subject with more passion, which leads to greater learning efficiency. Take students majoring in art as an example. In art lesson, definitely all of them will show their dedication in the subject and acquire the knowledge effortlessly. In contrast, when it comes to Mathematic lessons, it is obvious that students’ depressing attitude and a lack of concentration is expressed throughout the lessons. What is more, trends in the future can change erratically so it is impossible to be sure what skills may be handy in the future. Therefore, students should believe in their choices and pursue them steadfastly. In conclusion, although some subjects might be practical in the future, it seems to me that trends are unpredictable and students should have no hesitation in selecting subjects of their own favourites in order to generate as much enthusiasm in learning as possible.