Many working people get little or no exercise either during the working day or in their free time, and have health problems as a result. Why do so many working people not get enough exercise? What can be done about this problem?

People these days tend to suffer from various health issues since they usually do not exercise enough, whether on a working day or in their leisure time. This essay will discuss the main causes to this problem including extended working hours and being ignorant about one’s health. This essay will also suggest solutions including restricted working hours and conducting awareness campaigns around healthy lifestyles. Working overtime and not paying attention to one’s health are the main reasons people do not put a lot of effort towards exercising. With the onset of COVID recently, most of the employees are working from home, therefore, companies are expecting them to work for longer hours. Thus, people get tired by the end of the day and start ignoring their health. Even on the weekends they tend to ignore the fact that they have to exercise and take care of their health. Therefore, longer working hours and ignorance are the two causes why people do not get time to workout. There are two solutions to this problem, namely restricted working hours through government regulations and conducting awareness campaigns focussing on the need for exercising. Government could pose restriction on the daily working hours, for instance, no individual is allowed to work for more than eight hours a day. Additionally, social organisations should conduct campaigns promoting positive impact of exercising on health. Thus, limiting the time one can spend working in a day and sensitising the public with the benefits of exercising can help solve this problem. Individuals tend to suffer from various health problems since they do not get enough time to exercise. This essay discussed some causes to this issue including stretched working hours and ignorant attitude of people towards exercising. This essay also suggested certain solutions to this problem including government’s contribution to restricting working hours per day and conducting awareness workshops about healthy lifestyles.