Many working people get little or no exercise during the workday or in their free time and have health problems as a result. Why do many people do not get enough exercise? What can be done about this problem?

In recent times, there has been an urge to climb up the corporate ladder sooner which has led to employees spending huge amounts of time at work leaving them no time for any physical activity. Due to which majority of the working class people have been facing health issues sooner than in later years. In this essay, I will discuss the possible reasons for this concern and also elaborate feasible solutions. To start with, new technology has given humans the medium to interact without physically moving to another location. There are virtual teleconferencing and meetings wherein people from different geographies can communicate without having to move from their desks. Secondly they are obsessed with completing their tasks and working overtime to achieve monetary gains. All this had led to a sedentary lifestyle; leaving no or little time for people for physical activity. To illustrate, it has been found that 80% of all workers tend to spend 6 hours at a stretch on desk and with very little to no movement. Having said that, people need to understand the health complications that can arise of these habits. The most common being, lower back issues and eye fatigue which is a result of sitting long hours glaring into their computers without any breaks. Organisations need to recognise these concerns and develop policies and physical training sessions for employee welfare. To exemplify airlines companies, have weight limitations this ensures that staff do not gain excess weight and are fit for work. Some companies issue gym membership and organise sports tournaments for their employees. To recapitulate, the employers and employees need to acknowledge the side effects of spending long hours at work. They need to start introducing some form of physical activity in their mundane lifestyle to have healthy balance life.