Many TV channels show more men’s sport than women’s sport. Why is this? Should TV channels give equal time to men’s and women’s sport?

It is apparent that there is consistently far less TV coverage of women’s sport than of men’s sport. This discrepancy could be attributed to prevailing gender stereotypes within sport, and to combat this, there should be more balanced coverage of women’s sports from national broadcasters in order to gain support among a more mainstream audience. Doubtless, the shortage of airtime for women’s sport reflects the public’s outdated opinion on its entertainment value. For a long time, physically demanding activities in general, and sport in particular, have been largely associated with masculinity rather than femininity. Audiences are more drawn to games played by males, with the expectation of greater agility and more exciting competition. As a consequence of receiving less public attention and sponsorship, sports programs focusing on female sport is repeatedly cut, despite the fact that women still account for a large percentage of sports participants, giving more room for the representation of male sport matches. I am of the opinion that there should be a balance in the broadcasting of both men’s and women’s sports because of the tremendous benefits for society. The frequent TV coverage of the athletic achievements of successful male sporting celebrities encourages greater rates of participation across the globe, thus promoting the development of sportsmanship. If more screen time were devoted to female sports, there would be a rise in female role models for young women to follow, contributing to a change in the public mindset regarding female participation in sport and in turn catalyzing interest in sports involvement among women together with its numerous physical and social benefits. In conclusion, the uneven TV coverage of men’s and women’s sports is clearly linked to outdated opinions regarding gender roles in sport. Nonetheless, I firmly believe that more female athletes should be featured on TV so as to increase women’s participation in sport, with immense benefits for both females as individuals and society as a whole.