Many things that used to be done in the home by hands are now being done by machines. Does this development bring more advantages or disadvantages?

Nowadays, machines are being used to do most of our chores at home; on the contrary to the past, whereby everything was done manually. Whether this development bears more merits or demerits is debatable, as we will discuss now. It must be admitted that humans have benefited a lot by using machines, which are pracitcally doing most of the housework. Foremost among these benefits perhaps is time-saving. In other words, the advent of home appliances such as dishwashers, washing machines and vacuum cleaners has allowed the majority of housework to be done in a short amount of time. For instance, homeowners can use those machines simultaneously to finish many tasks at the same time, allowing them to use the rest of the day dealing with more pressing matters such as work. Besides time-saving, these machines complete the tasks more efficiently than humans can by using their hands. However, the dependence on using machines at home does have some disadvantages. For example, if one of the devices stopped working due to a malfunction, that would put the task on hold until the machine is fixed, which is a stressful situation, because of the owner inability to do the task by hand. In addition to that, since most of the housework is taken care of by the appliances, people become lazier. According to a study at the University of California, people in the past are healthier than people nowadays, and the reason is that they used to physically do their house chores. Consequently, the more people become dependent on machines, the lazier they get. In conclusion, although relying on machines can make people helpless when they stop, and physically unhealthy, the advantages of them saving time and finishing work efficiently is more beneficial.