Many students are taught to push themselves to try and be better than other students, rather than work together for everyone’s benefits. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that most of the parents are pushing their kids to try hard to showcase themselves better than the others. Even some schools are doing the same. Although, this has some advantages like getting opportunities to study in top colleges, it has own disadvantages like those students will not get adopted to team work and they will lack leadership skills. This essay will discuss about both sides. One of the key benefits of making a student try hard to his best is, he will have an opportunity to study in one of the top universities. Most of the parents still believe that scoring higher marks than the other will give their kids such opportunities and also enhances their confidence. For example, Engineering college counselling in TamilNadu under Anna University focuses on students marks. The more you score, the more you will have the chance to choose your college along with the department of your interest. As a result, the students who are pushed hard just to score will have the flexibility in opting the college or department or even location. Despite of the above positive arguments, it has its flip side. Due to high pressure from parents and teachers, students nowadays spend most of their time with books rather than having fun with friends. Moreover, in order to score more than the other, they are restricted to study as a group. For instance, if students are put into groups to study and to share their knowledge, it will influence everyone to score better and learn more. In contrary, few are not allowed to do so, as others may come to know their tricks and may score better than them. As a consequence, those students will lose their friends and ability to work as a team. In conclusion, it is good to push students to try harder than others for a better future. However, they need to understand that it is not always possible to compete alone. They need work together with others as a team for everyone's benefit.