Many small local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area, How does this affect local communities? how could this situation be improved?

It is true that the majority of mini grocery stores are shutting down eventually because of being lack of capability of surviving in the stiff competition of huge supermarkets in the same area. Through the problems that causes many drawbacks, there are ways to help improving this situation. There are many downsides that people have to face due to the closure of local shops. First of all, it might cost them more money to pay for the goods as local shops are more attractive for customers in terms of pricing. For example, a supermarket is much bigger than a local shop, so the owner needs money to pay for the electricity fee or transportation fee, therefore, the price of each good they sell is much higher than a local shop sell. Moreover, many local shops in the same area can be a positive thing for families. They do not have to move too far from their house in case of emergency as long as they have babies. So due to the shutter of convenient stores, people are getting more and more inconveniences who cannot travel long distance from their house. As a result, there are measures for the government to step in and control the problems explained above. One effective method is funding from the owner for those investors to invest in their potential shops. Another way that the government can do is to subsidize for the local shops to purchase for the goods. That helps many local shops withstand the competition with large supermarkets. In conclusion, although the number of mini stores is shutting down due to the appearance of many large supermarkets, but with just various of measures from the government, that can help them as also for the benefits of the community and the nation as whole.