Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’ How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Nowadays, the number of vehicles has risen sharply and it was considered to be the main cause of the traffic problems in many cities. This essay will present my view about this issue and propose two measures as a remedy to it. In the past, it was difficult for some people buying cars because of their expensive prices. However, when technology was developed, the cost of car manufacturing was decreased making it reachable for everyone. Therefore, consumers have the power to buy vehicles and then it led to a traffic jam we face today. I personally think it is true that an increase in vehicle ownership can lead to a traffic problem. In order to solve this problem, there are two solutions that governments can use to influence people not to use their private cars. First, governments should encourage people to use public transportations. In fact, many countries have already encouraged their people to use public services instead of their own vehicles but the problem still not be solved because people did not realize how effective using public transport can be. Thus, governments should develop public transportation in many ways; for example, every commuters’ cleanliness should be at an excellent level, buses should be on time and have their own lane during peak hours and estimate travel time should be provided to people. The other measure which is considered as an indirect solution to reduce using private vehicles is that governments increase some costs that paid by car owners and at the same time make public transport prices be reasonable. Increasing costs of using private vehicles such as fuel tax, maintenance, or tollway tickets can encourage people to look for cheaper kinds of commuters to take them to their destinations. In addition, if governments reduce public transportation prices, they can get more attention from people and that might solve the traffic problem. In conclusion, I strongly agree that the increase in car owners created a traffic jam in many countries. The two solutions that governments can use to convince people from using their own vehicles and avoid traffic jams are the effective development of the public transportation system and the increasing costs of using cars together with reducing public transportation prices.