Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. How does this effect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

The retail business has become very competitive and small retailers are finding it very difficult to survive in presence of large supermarkets. This main impacts of this on the local communities including job losses and monopolised market. This can be changes by applying some changes, including a partnership based business model and improved government regulation. To begin with, closure of local retail shops will result in a severe job crisis as they are the primary source of income for a lot of local communities. In addition, presence of only large supermarkets in retail business will result in higher inflation. For example, a recent study conducted tells that if the current situation continues, the unemployment and inflation rates will be at their peak since last decade. This will not only impact lives of local communities but also have a widespread impact on the economy. Small size retail shops should think of some partnership based model that can help them increase their profession size and scope to be able to compete with large retailers. Furthermore, government should create an atmosphere where retailers can approach investment firms to raise capital in order to grow their business. For instance, there are various investment summits conducted by governments where various companies and investment firms come together. Government should make such platforms available for local retail business as well. This will not only help small retailers survive but in fact will give them opportunity to grow, create more jobs and provide a larger contribution towards the growth of the economy. In conclusion, in today’s competitive business environment small local shops are finding it very difficult to sustain and compete with large brands. This essay discussed how closure of local retail shops will result in job loss and increase inflation. This essay also suggested solutions to this problem are two fold: local retailers should come together and have partnerships and the platforms government should provide that will enable local retailers to not just survive but also grow.