Many people today prefer socializing online to that in the local community, do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The critical development of the Internet and social media platforms are crucial, yet arguments about this alternation seem to not be ceased. In fact, many believe that this growth is unfavourable, of which I second. On the one hand, socializing online provides convenience and reduces cost and time. Connecting through the Internet is accessible and simple to all individuals irrespective of their social status and finance. Moreover, social media eliminates geographical boundaries. As a result, people prefer this method because they cannot afford the time and effort to perform traditional communication. For instance, a student who is studying abroad cannot travel back and forth on a daily basis to reconnect with his family. With the help of the Internet, this person can see and talk to their relatives on a regular basis. However, this method creates distance and unqualified communication skills. Even though as mentioned, the Internet minimizes geographical barrier, it generates mental barriers. In a gathering, people are rather getting distracted by their phones than orally interacting, which eventually leads to a destructive relationship. As this goes on, individuals isolated themselves and became different person compares to the one on social medias, numb and emotionless. Moreover, children and teenagers nowadays, with the overuse of online socialization, are not able to communicate properly. It is witnessed that many are failing interviews and job opportunities because they cannot talk and express themselves face to face, which leads to a society of unskilled and incompetent workers. In conclusion, the Internet plays a substantial role in life and this advancement is indispensable. However, the excessive growth of this platform is producing a generation of unqualified and dependable individuals, which will be disadvantageous for the society.