In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

Nowadays, the dominance of imported food over local ones has become a heated topic in many countries. While this issue is ascribed to several reasons, there are also a range of solutions that can be possibly applied to tackle it. From a general perspective, the main reason for this prevailing trend of buying international foods belongs to human interest. No matter how mouth-watering it is, eating the same traditional food on a regular basis can be a strong distaste to appetite. Buying imported food has not only become a way to vary daily consumption but also a cure to regain fondness for eating. Besides that, having a foreign meal also enables individuals to have a grasp of international cuisine by learning the process of cooking and some distinctive ingredients for that dish. For instance, loyal fans of Indian curry are likely to have profound knowledge on many offbeat types of addings and ingredients such as chilly powders, basil which are widely used in Islamic nations. Moreover, it is undeniable that culinary can bridge the disparities between cultures. If someone gets accustomed to eating international food, that person will make a better adaptation to an unacquainted environment. In an attempt to approach this problem, there are many solutions can be made on the governmental level. First, the head of a nation can allocate money for campaign to regain the love for traditional food among its citizen, such as holding national food festivals or promoting them customarily. Following this, another idea worthy of consideration is that higher tariffs should be imposed on foreign cuisine. Take Japan as an example, since the country’s government put heavy taxes on imported foodstuffs, Japaneses have an absolute liking for their traditional products, which eventually leading to the spread of Japanese cuisine whenever they go. Furthermore, food companies can give out promotions on special events like national holidays or festival as a way to encourage families to dine in local restaurants. In conclusion, though a variety of reasons result in the increasing number of foreign food item, there will obviously be many inventions that society could come up with to overcome the drawback of this problem.