Many people today, especially in the developed world, are choosing to have fewer children, or none at all. Why is this happening, and do you think it is a good trend?

Quite a few individuals in the developed world have chosen to conceive few offspring, or none whatsoever. There are several reasons for this phenomenon, and it is debatable according to me. In ancient times, our ancestors had children more than a dozen. This was because, they had the luxury of time and sufficient money to feed their family. Today, on the contrary, everything around us has changed. There is a growing need for money and people to sustain themselves. Even with the husband, and wife putting in extra hours at work they barely manage to make ends meet. In this case, if they are to have children there are additional responsibilities of schooling and future career for the child. Moreover, the government of various nations is asking citizens to have nuclear families with only two children. Also, in a country with a growing economy the price of each product increases, which puts undue pressure on the earning members of a family. Parents prefer one child, as they are able to plan their child's future. For example: Households with more than two children are unable to give their children a decent education. In contrast there are people who do not wish to have any children of their own, as they prefer a life only with their partner. When human beings are married, especially in India, they are forced to bear a child within the first year of marriage. This creates unnecessary confusion between the newly married couple and they chose to have no babies at all. In conclusion, it may not be a good trend, but it is absolutely an economic decision.