In many countries today people are choosing to have fewer children. Why is this case? What are the effects of this trend on society?

It is common knowledge that there has been an increasing number of people from several different backgrounds immigrating to large cities. In my opinion, this trend results from many reasons, and it causes some pressing problems in those metropolises. To begin with, I firmly believe that there are some specific reasons why I think moving to mega cities becomes a popularity. With the advent of advanced technology, manual agricultural practices in rural countries have become old-fashioned. These traditional methods are now replaced by automated robots, causing many peasants to be unemployed. As those large cities are offering a wide variety of jobs for their residents, immigrants will have more golden opportunities to get a well-paid job, which, as a result, assists them in making both ends meet for their family as well as improving the standards of living in the near future. Another reason which needs taken into account is that education systems in urban regions are widely believed to be beneficial for students' study progresses. For instance, prestigious universities and institutions in many developed countries such as America, England and Australia are well-known for providing both local and international students with up-to-date learning facilities for their studies in addition to a broad range of job opportunities, which, to my way of thinking, can be a great contributor for their lives in the future. As advantageous moving to urban areas might be, it can lead to many problems. As the number of people leaving their old lifestyles behind and moving to other developed countries continues to be on the rise, that traffic congestion in mega cities are inevitable, which consequently leads to an upward trend in a great deal of carbon emissions. The question is, if this trend goes on, what will happen next to our planet besides global heating and other environmental crises? Moreover, overpopulation in metropolises will somehow affect the local economy because the authorities may have to make more efforts to welcome the newcomers by fulfilling their basic needs such as accommodation and healthcare. Last but not least, when it comes to employment, there is no doubt that the growth in the number of urban citizens will cause the decline in job quality owing to inability of employers to manage on the whole. To conclude, while I agree that moving to urban areas which is becoming a popular tendency brings countless benefits for people, I think that it can cause lots of aforementioned consequences.