4. Fewer and fewer young people are choosing to become a teacher. Why do young people do not want to become teachers? how could this be changed?

The pursuit of teaching as a profession by young people is declining. In my opinion, this is due to many causes including salaries and the amount of workload. However, there are solutions to mitigate these problems. The main reasons young people do not aspire to become teachers are unattractive salaries and heavy workload. For instance, the paycheque of a teacher with 5 years of experience in the field in the UK is minuscule i as compared to a doctor with the same level of experience. Similarly, many teachers stay in school until late hours for homework checking. Moreover, a significant amount of their family time is used lecture preparation at home. Therefore, a career as a teacher is rapidly and, understandably, becoming unpopular among young individuals. Despite there problems, teaching as a job can be made tempting for young citizens by offering salary packages and teacher friendly environment. This can be achieved by increased funds allocation to schools and universities so that they can hike up the salaries of teachers. This will decrease the void between levels of salaries of teachers and other professionals. This will also contribute towards better working conditions as these high salaries will attract more people to the job of teaching, Consequently, due to the increased number of teachers, the workload will be redistributed to a fair level among teachers. Hence the improved work-life balance will incite young people to become teachers. In conclusion, the fewer number of young teachers can be attributed to the less attractive pay grades and unfair workload. But the condition can be improved by increasing salaries as well as the workforce.