Fewer and fewer young people are choosing to become teachers. Why do young people not want to be teachers? How this could be changed?

Over recent decades, a reduction in the number of graduates choosing to become classroom teachers has been reported. This essay will endeavor to examine the reasons why this situation has arisen and to pinpoint possible ways of dealing with it. The decline in popularity of teaching is related to economic and social factors, as well as health concerns. Firstly, salaries paid by schools are comparatively low. A well-qualified graduate can earn more by working in other sectors like IT, real-estate or even tourism. In addition, teachers no longer benefit from the respect they previously enjoyed. Those working in the Education sector used to have the same social status as lawyers, doctors and so on. This is not now the case. Finally, the job seems extremely unattractive as most potential teachers are put off by the thought of long working hours and disruptive students. It is widely acknowledged that the many working in primary schools or secondary education suffer from stress, depression and other mental and emotional conditions. A range of strategies might be used to arrest this decline. Firstly, the ministers of education should give teachers a pay-rise or offer financial incentives to newly qualified recruits or those who prove to be successful. This would make the teaching profession a more attractive proposition. In addition, the government ought to launch an awareness-raising campaign to remind the general public of the importance and values of a teacher. This might begin to restore the teacher’s status as a valued citizen. Finally, steps could be taken to reduce workload of teaching staff and give them the powers to discipline poorly behaved children. This could make teaching a far more pleasant experience. To recapitulate, measures could be introduced to reverse this trend and raise the number of applicants for jobs in schools. However, I am not widely optimistic that the government will give this issue a top priority. It seems likely the there will be an ongoing decline in both the quantity and quality of teachers. From everyone’s perspective, this is a shame