Many people see animals as tools to be used by humans to better their lives. They believe animals should help feed us and keep us healthy by being subjects to experiments that will lead to new medications and medical processes. Others believe that animals should have the same rights to a good life as humans.

Many people consider human beings’ position at the top of the evolutionary chain as justification for the exploitation of animals. While animals are undoubtedly of great benefit to human survival, we should not take them for granted nor treat them cruelly as they have as much right to a “good life” as human beings, in my view. A good life for most people implies freedom from pain. This is true for animals as well. Indeed, research has demonstrated that animals feel pain and suffer when removed from their natural habitats. A caged lion, for example, walks back and forth with its tail lowered as a result of its stress. The fact that many animals will not breed in captivity is further proof they suffer. However, while many would agree that keeping animals in a zoo is inhumane, they nevertheless condone holding them in laboratories for experiments to help humans. In fact, animal testing that leads to discoveries of cures for diseases like cancer make arguments against animal exploitation hard to defend. The same applies to breeding animals for food like meat and dairy products, or hunting animals such as deer when they grow out of control. These arguments for animal use gain traction as the world’s human population grows. However, a wise person would realize that it is possible to live well without consuming animal-based food products at all; vegans do it every day. As for lab experiments, these are done simply for better cosmetics and soaps in the name of human vanity. Thus, it is clear these animals are being treated undeservedly cruelly and this must stop immediately. In conclusion, humans can take advantage of the world around them. While this may involve using animals for health and nutritional needs, people should remember that animals deserve the same respect as any human and used only for truly helpful purposes.