Many people say the gap between rich and poor people is wider, as rich people become richer and poor people grow poorer. What problems could this situation cause and what measures can be done to address those problems?

Being rich does not automatically mean that people would experience genuine happiness in the course of their lives. While some people opine that having an abundance of money and flashy things would translate to living a happy life, others are of the opinion that been gleeful is not a function of affluence. This essay will completely disagree with the notion that being affluent translate to living a lifetime of glee. On the one hand, living in abundance would mean that individuals can afford any form of luxury in which they choose to own. Wealth is often being used as a tool to blow one's trumpet and command desired social status. For example, wealthy people would often purchase flashy cars, use expensive wristwatches and wear flamboyant clothing for certain occasions just as way of commanding prestige and respect for themselves. Hence, it would be easy for bystanders to conclude that such people would definitely be living a happy life as they can boast of everything with which money can buy. Conversely, the feeling of genuine excitement in one's life does not entirely depend on wealth. People have often cited various factors such as having a stable career and astonishing physical and mental health status. For example, most people would be happier if they are of perfect health than to be extremely affluent but battling with incurable diseases. In addition, placing a lot of attention on material things could lead to living a disastrous life if tides turn and riches are depleted. Therefore, people would prefer to associate their happiness with other factors other than their financial status. In conclusion, this essay argued that true happiness does not lie in the weight of an individual's pocket. In my opinion, climbing the career rungs and finding purpose in one's life give greater guaranty for happiness.