Essay: Many people say that the gap between rich and poor people is wider, as rich people become richer and poor people grow poorer. What problems could this situation cause and what measures can be done to address those problems?

Nowadays, reading and watching TV are two of the most important one’s leisure activities. However, it opens a controversial question as to whether reading or watching TV would enhance people’s imaginations and language-related skills. From my perspective, I believe that reading certainly brings more benefits than watching TV due to the following reasons. Reading for pleasure, on the one hand, can allow people to improve better imaginations and language skills. Firstly, reading which is considered to be an active method of knowledge acquisition allows readers to create their own characters or construct different interpretations of a text. Take Harry Potter which is a series of fantasy novels as an example, it brings readers to another world of wizards and magicians so that they have to use their creativity and imagination to visualize their characters. Secondly, reading can also do wonders for one’s language skills. By doing this, people can boost not only their vocabulary, but different grammatical structures. For example, one can pause at any moment to ponder a word from different contexts- which is of paramount importance when learning a new language. On the other hand, watching TV does little to increase people’s imagination. Although it is undeniable that TV offers lively and colourful images than books, viewers can only watch passively the things given by TV programs; hence, they use their imagination little. Besides, in today’s digital world, TV is full of advertisements which sometimes distract someone from what they are watching and therefore it contributes to losing one’s focus. However, people can improve their listening and speaking skills via watching TV programs such as BBC News, which can affect people’s way of communication. As a result, watching TV also brings advantages to viewers. In conclusion, because of the enormous merits of reading in terms of imagination and language skills, I believe that reading is more an effective way than watching TV.