Essay: Many people say that the gap between rich and poor people is wider, as rich people become richer and poor people grow poorer. What problems could this situation cause and what measures can be done to address those problems?

It is believed that the gap between the rich and the poor have been becoming wider. This situation have been causing many problems not only in the developing countries but also in the wealthy nations. And there are some solutions that can be carried to tackle those problems as well. The first consequences caused by global rich-poor gap widening is the acceleration of crime rates in society. When individuals who are extremely poor fail to cover their basic needs in life, such as shelters and food, they are usually forced to commit crimes such as burglaries or robberies to have sufficient money in order to support themselves and their families. When this situation becomes worse, it leads to social unrest and political instability. The second problems brought about by economic inequality is the unfairness for people living below the poverty line. For example, while young people coming from a prosperous family often easily have a chance to study abroad at leading universities in the world, many poor ones almost can not access the average quality education in their own countries. As a result, good education opportunities turn out to be a luxury thing which only the wealthy can afford. To address above problems, firstly, governments should provide financial and job opportunity supports for impoverished people. It will allow them to increase their living standards, provides them a chance to make a living by themselves and prevents them become criminals. This measure would be financed by imposing more tax on the rich. Secondly, it is necessary for the government to offer special educational opportunities such as full scholarships to students who have poverty-stricken backgrounds, which would enable them to continue their studies even when their parents could not pay for their tuition fees. When the youth in need are well-educated, their are more likely to find good jobs and escape the cycle of poverty. The burden on society would be minimized as the unemployment rate is reduced and the rich-poor gap is narrowed. In conclusion, the economic inequality is widening in many countries by many reasons, but by finding the main issues and tackle them, governments could diminish the gap between rich and poor.