Many people say that teenagers should concentrate on all school subjects equally. Others, however, believe that students should spend more time on subjects they like, or are good at.

These days, an ample emphasis has been placed on education and school curriculum. This essay thus first aims to investigate why some people assert studying particular courses that school-age children like is more beneficial; thereafter, it examines why others think students should study a variety of subjects, followed by my perception. One aspect which some millennials believe justifies concentrating on a few liked school subjects by pupils can be identified as a higher chance of acquiring proficiency. If youngsters concentrate on what they are interested in, they will not become bored during their studies, allowing them to improve their skills more rapidly, thereby achieving a higher level of proficiency at an earlier age. This then will ensure them a successful life when they grow up. A study conducted by the USLA in 2017, for instance, showed that 71 percent of adolescents who focus on particular subjects that they like such as art, music, and painting turn out to be accomplished artists in their later years. However, the opposition put forward convincing arguments. Another angle on this debate suggests students should study a variety of subjects. The real world necessitates numerous skills and therefore school curriculums should offer different disciplines for students to focus on, allowing them to obtain different abilities, which gives them more opportunities when they grow up. For example, Labor market statistics acknowledge that young professionals need to have a large number of abilities such as computer literacy, mathematical competency as well as interpersonal skills in order to be successful in job interviews. This illustrates the equal necessity of studying varied subjects. In summary, it is clear that some proportions of young students will have more proficiency in some subjects if they concentrate on them; nonetheless, I believe that having a variety of skills provides more opportunities and hence juveniles should concentrate on different subjects whether they are interested in them or no.