In many Western Countries, there is an increasing number of couples choosing to have no children. What are the advantages and disadvantages to couples having no children?

In recent times, there has been a rise in couples who do not want to give birth to a child. This trend is rising rapidly, especially in Western Countries. The main benefit of this trend is, it allows the couple to live a free life. However, the drawback includes loneliness and the lack of support in older age which is common. On the one hand, having no kids after marriage means fewer responsibilities for the couple. Couple without kids can live their life, according to their own choice, they can fulfill their dreams and can pursue their careers, without any fear. Such couples are free from extra financial stress because they do not need to handle expenditure of raising kids; for this, they do not need to do additional or part-time jobs. For example, a report published in "The New York Times "in 2009, stated that such couples, who prefer not to bring kids, are much happier and satisfied, as compared to couples, who have kids. On the other hand, in old age, a person can suffer from health-related issues like dementia, hypertension, diabetes, and depression. These diseases are common after the '50s. In such times, a couple without kids may miss the moral support from their children, which is essential at this age. This loneliness and lack of support are crucial drawbacks of this trend. To illustrate, a research published in a local magazine, showed that older people who get help from their family and are living with their kids are happier, healthier and active, as compared to people who are living without kids and the rate of depression is much higher among them. To conclude, the decision to have no kids, after marriage, may be beneficial for couples, who do not want to burden the responsibilities of parenthood. However, such couples can suffer from loneliness and depression in older age.