Many people say schools adopt theoretical approach of learning rather than practicals in schools from primary to University level

Some people argued that too much time has being allocated to theoretical knowledge at the expense of hands-on studies in all cadre of educational system. And I totally agree with the notion because most student cannot defend their certificates upon graduation and many school pupils struggle through School. Needless to say, lots of students upon graduation have nothing to show for the knowledge acquired apart from the certificate award. For instance, the conventional method of teaching does not prepare them for job and they learn through ' chalk and talk' mode of learning. For instance, a computer software graduate who cannot write a simple running code not to talk of debugging the application for errors. Another reason why practical approach to learning is crucial is that it helps students irrespective of their ages to form a mental-model of what is being taught and this help them understand and allow for higher performance such as in problem solving and skills acquisition. These are essential skills which are necessary for when they will start to work. For example, a recent study has shown that Japanese leads the numeracy and literacy knowledge chart because of the practical approach used in teaching in their schools. They draw and play with numbers and not memorize them and are quite fast when solving a multiplication problems using intersecting strokes approach. The importance of practical way of impacting knowledge to students in schools cannot be over emphasized as most schools favour theoretical approach over practical which is a way of getting students involved in learning process. It makes they an active learner and allows for collaboration.