Many people prefer to use public transportation while others say that personal cars are the best mode of transportation. Excessive use of private cars is considered to be the main reason for the traffic jam in many cities and that's why the use of public transportation is encouraged.

Transportation is playing an important role in every nation's development process and this is an important aspect of our life for mobility. Some people believe that private car is the best mean of transportation while others say that public transport service should be used for this purpose. However, as far as I am concerned, I firmly agree that public transport service should be our main mean of transportation. The advantages and demerits of using public transportation are discussed in this essay. The very first advantage of using public transportation service is that it reduced the burning of fossil fuel. We all know that fuels like petrol and diesel take million of years to make. Therefore if we do not decrease the usage level of these fuels then in future it will be diminished. So to make sure that it will not happen in future, we need to save these fuels as much as possible. The very first step towards it is the usage of public transport service. Since a public transportation can carry a large number of passengers it reduced the overall fuel consumption. Thus it helps to reduce the air and environmental pollutions. Secondly, more pollution will be generated if we opt to use private cars for transportation. The more personal cars on the road, the more pollution it will generate. So if we use bus or train for roaming then we can fulfil our part to decrease the environmental pollutions. Further, transportation cost is cheaper in the case of public transportation. Another aspect is the accident risk. In private cars, the probability of accident on road has increased dramatically. Last but not least, public transportation increases your social contacts. Your social life will scatter with the use of government transport service. Every coin has two sides and that is true for the usage of public transportation as well. Firstly, public buses or trains take more time to travel to some place. It does not take any shortcuts and also runs in limited speed. On the other hand, with a private car, you can go to any place in a very short time. Secondly, public transport service is limited. One has to make sure that he/she has the timetable of public buses or trains. If one does not have timing record, then it generates some hurdles for the travellers. There is little privacy on public transportation and you can’t relax in a crammed public bus or train. All in all, I would conclude by saying that public transport service has more advantages than its disadvantages. Further, I like to suggest that buses or trains should our main transportation types. Private cars should be used for urgent needs only. Otherwise, public transportations should be used. It will save our environment.