Many people prefer to read and tell stories to their children and regard it as a good opportunity to establish a stronger parent-child relationship. Others, however, think that parents do not need to do that and children should read books, watch TV and movies by themselves.

The attitude of children towards the society is mainly based on the knowledge they get from books, TV and media. However, some think it is the responsibility of parents to read the stories to children, while others think children have the ability to read and understand the things on media, books by themselves. I will discuss both aspects in the below paragraphs. Firstly, Parents are the first teacher to their kids. Parents are the one who will have a vast influence in moulding children for the betterment of their future. Parents can convey the right messages gathered from books, TV, media in a more precise way. Also, parents can broaden children's view by discussing various elements of life by telling stories. Furthermore, parents can teach more the efficient method of reading books and gathering information from the media. On the contrary, too much influence of parents develops a dependent attitude in children, which reduces the self-confidence in taking decisions. Children will also follow negative aspects of their parents as they are not getting enough opportunity to think in different directions. Secondly, children develop a unique ability of self-decision and judgment if they are allowed to read books, watch TV, media. This self-dependence will have a positive impact on their academic carries. In addition, creativity and imagination will be moulded according to their experience and imagination. On the other hand, children will accept everything without knowing the positive and negative elements which will impact their personality and future. To sum up, I opine that, both approaches have advantages and disadvantage but parents have more influence on the development of positive attitude in children by guiding them in each element. However, parents should act in such a way that, the learning and independent decision taking abilities of their children are not compromised.