Some people believe that history is very important and we must study the past to understand the present. Others say that it has little or no use at all.

Perhaps no subject in the world causes as much controversy as history does. In recent years, there has been a growing attitude toward understanding history which is to the largest extent beneficial for people of all walks of life. However, there is a view that argues against this and considers no roles for history. In this essay, I will look at both aspects and put forward my observation. It is obvious that past experience plays a vital role in every facet of human's life. Since our past experience has been tried, we are more likely to be successful in the long run. The better and successful plan is, therefore, offered. From an educational perspective, for example, many people have obtained their qualifications through numerous methods which now they completely obsolete and other innovative means of education have been replaced. In this regard, by looking at previous decades we are more willing to benefit from past experience so as to gain prosperity and make an excellent plan for our future. On the flip side, despite the fact that looking at history is essential to get inspiration for advancement in life, we should not overlook the sight of the fact that this might be time and money consuming. We are living in a fast-growing world and planning as well as thinking about future is the most beneficial act that we should be able to carry out. As an example, in urban planning, it is totally waste of time if history is taken into account. In addition, many materials which used in past buildings are out of access. Thus, understanding historical building cannot help to make new buildings. As suggested above, although a few number of people believe that history is not as necessary as other issues, I agree that understanding it has manifold positive effects on our life.