Some people think parents should read or tell stories to children, while others think parents need not do that, as children can read books, watch TV or movies by themselves.

Since the dawn of time, parents have been reading storybooks to their children. Throughout history, most especially mothers read stories that have lessons to be learned. Some believe that reading and telling good stories to children should be done by parents and some refute this for they can do all of that by themselves. These points of view will be discussed in this order. It is believed by some that parents should read and tell stories to children. An idea that supports this is the psycho-social development theory of Erik Erikson where children should be easily acquired knowledge from the early childhood to school-age. It can be argued that parents especially mothers should be the one providing this. Thus, it is clear why some people gravitate towards this point of view. On the other hand, many argue that parents do not need to do that for children are able to do those things by themselves. For example, my father and mother are both intelligent and they certainly believe that genes are hereditary. Therefore they knew that when I was a toddler until I graduated my elementary could read books that they have bought on my own. After analysing these facts, it is clear why many support this claim. In conclusion, for reasons related to Erikson's psychosocial development theory and hereditary of parents' intellectual characteristics, the issue of whether parents should or should not read and tell stories to their children is supported and refuted by many. However, after analysing these two points of view, it is clear that children must have their parents with them in learning lessons in their story-reading. Hence, the argument that fathers and mothers should read and tell stories to their children can be supported. Thus doing this before bedtime to your children is highly recommended.