Many people prefer to read and tell stories to their children and regard it as a good opportunity to establish a stronger parent-child relationship. Others, however, think that parents do not need to do that and children should read books, watch TV and movies by themselves.

People have different views on whether parents should read or tell stories to children. From my point of view, this practice is more beneficial to children, although the opposite view does have some advantages. It is undeniable that letting children read books by themselves would cultivate their independence. As they can explore the world of books by themselves, there is no restriction to their mind. Children can build up the ability of independent thinking in this way. Besides, more broaden information is available for children by this practice. Books, movies, TV have various information and some of them are very valuable knowledge. It is a good way for children to accumulate this knowledge with entertainment ways as they won't feel any pressure on it. Despite above argument, the way of sharing or reading stories to children by their parents has more distinctive benefits. Parents can enhance the relationship with their children. For example, the time spent on reading stories together is memorable and meaningful to both parents and children and they can have an open discussion or free chat with each other. Another benefit is that parents can provide an appropriate guidance to their children so as to keep them away from some negative materials which are overwhelming in the media nowadays. It is essential for children to grow up with their parents' guidance. To sum up, reading stories to children can enhance the intimacy between parents and children as well as provide some proper guidance, although letting children read by themselves can help them to build up their independence and acquire various knowledge from different channels.