Many people find it hard to balance their work with other parts of their lives. What are the reasons for this? How can this problem be overcome?

It is argued that a growing number of workers struggle to have to good work-life balance. This essay will suggest that the principle cause of the problem is overspending and submit financial management as a viable solution, followed by a reasoned conclusion. The main cause of employee not being able to balance work and life is the excessive spending of money on entertainment goods. The majority of people in the world today spend most of their salaries for leisure and extravagances, such as concert performances, and refer to these activities as an ubiquitous part of modern-life. If this is done continually, it will result in overtime work to cover all the cost and fulfilling daily needs. For example, a recent study by MIT shows that 10 out of 15 US citizens spend 64% of their budgets on recreational activities, mostly on movie tickets and musical concerts. Moreover, when 100 of them were interviewed, they admitted to have struggled balancing expenditures and incomes, therefore had to work long hours including on weekends. The most practical solution to this problem is to encourage financial organization, particularly on expenses. This will help workers to record how much they spend and warn them every time a specific limit is reached as well as which sectors they deplete in the most so that overspending can be avoided. For instance, a survey conducted by TapCash, a commercial company specializing in financial managing, shows 87% of its audiences feel helped by the app on balancing their cash and although hesitant at first, have gradually reduced their work hours. In conclusion, this essay suggests that high expense for recreational purposes contributed mainly to the imbalance work and life issue. This can be tackled by setting management for finance to record spending so that excessive spend can be curbed.