Many people find it hard to balance their work with other parts of their lives. What are the reasons for this? How can this problem be overcome?

The 20th century has witnessed some phenomena such as globalization, the IT revolution, which has opened the horizons for numerous job opportunities. Since most of the jobs are in the private sector, and their main motive is to reap maximum profit; therefore, this type of employment is demanding in terms of time and energy. Indeed, to be successful as a professional and to cope-up with the social pressure and the extravagant lifestyle of the upcoming generation, people are spending extra hours in the office. So, the work-life balance of an individual is disturbed, and the essay will discuss the main reasons and remedy to overcome the prevailing situation. The prominent reason is the expenses pertaining to the social pressure, namely, the exorbitant school fees of the children and social gathering activities. In other words, in the cities, we live in societies, even if one is earning less than his neighbour, to be part of a social group in the community, and to maintain status, one has to spend the same money as your neighbour is doing. The civic authority of India, for instance, surveyed, the average expense category of employees and published that 98% of them are hugely burdened by the expense related to school fees or social gatherings, which they have to do it unwillingly. Moreover, in today's corporate world, there is a rat-race to be a successful professional, so one has to put extra effort; therefore, he can drive out extra profit for the company and be a stand-out employee. One of the obvious solutions to this problem is that the government should offer additional income tax benefits to the employees' kids studying in public educational institutes; consequently, the burden of earning extra will be eased off. In the USA, for example, parents prefer public schools, as they can claim the income tax benefits, and they use this saved money for recreation activities in the community they are living in. Furthermore, the private firms should implement a rule that every 2 out of 5 working days, the workforce will be leaving on time, so that they can spend time with their families, because, if a person is happy in his personal life, he can contribute more towards his company. To conclude, the social reputation pressure has forced people to spend and earn more, but a well balanced work-life of an individual can bolster his growth as a professional and the company in a better way.