Many people disagree with the school about forcing children to learn new languages.

Some people argue that it is not necessary to urge children to learn new languages at school. This essay disagrees that languages play an unimportant role in children’s lives. Firstly, this essay will discuss the disapproval among parents in learning new languages and secondly, it will discuss the advantages of tendency. On the one hand, it is true that the majority of parents today do not let their children spend a great deal of time focusing on learning new languages, and offer the opinion to the education system that children should not be forced to learn as well. The prime reason of this is due to parental perspectives, in which it is more preferable for their children to concentrate on academic subjects such as maths, physics or science, rather than trying to speak a language, which is totally unfamiliar with their cultures. For example, Vietnamese parents tend to drop English subject in their children’s daily timetable in an attempt to gain more time and access to other subjects. Consequently, children would become more academically successful in their study. On the other hand, I believe that encouraging young schoolers to develop the ability to speak different languages is extremely essential in the education system. This is a contributing factor to help children have a keen understanding of various cultures belonging to different countries. For example, by being competent at speaking English, children could be more aware of using words more appropriately in different cultural contexts rather than speaking their own voices by translating directly from their mother tongue. Despite this, being a polyglot would greatly benefit children not only in their daily lives but also in academic work. In conclusion, although many believe that learning new languages is unimportant, and the reason is a waste of time, I argue that we should not ignore this due to its benefits.