In some societies, obesity is regarded as a major problem. Some people believe that junk food advertising is largely to blame for this problem and should be banned. However, others feel that junk food advertising does not contribute to the problem of obes

The tendency towards people consuming junk food is increasingly prevalent, which leads to obesity and other weight-gain problems. Thus, this advertising campaign should be prohibited. In my opinion, while advertising junk food would take its toll on the daily eating habit of people, I think that awareness among them is more important. In terms of junk food advertisement, most industries nowadays strive to draw public attention as much as possible into the product that they want to launch, which is fast food or junk food. The aim is to approach consumers, who are young and have no time to prepare daily meals, so workers or even youngsters can be susceptible to this. This type of food does not require a lot of time to prepare as well as to finish. Consequently, not only do people meet their eating needs, but they also fulfil their satisfaction, and any problem such as obesity or overweight is perhaps unavoidable. Apart from the influence of junk food advertising expressed above, I believe that it does not contribute to the problem of obesity because awareness among people is the deciding factor. Individuals, who are health-conscious and have a keen understanding of food ingredients, are more likely to prevent weight-related problems from happening in the first place. It means that no matter how many times that they watch junk food advertisement; if they want to pay proper attention to their physical and mental health, they would not eat junk food on a regular basis. For example, adults favour eating at home over eating out because it is not necessary to consume junk food, which is full of health-related risks. In conclusion, it is undeniable that the presence of junk food is becoming evident within society. Although obesity can be attributed to junk food advertisement to some extent, I believe that human factors are more significant.