Many people buy products that they do not really need and replace old products with new ones unnecessarily. Why do people buy things they do not really need? Do you think this is good thing?

Despite the fact that it is not necessary to constantly replace old products, many people tend to purchase the cutting edge commodities, such as phone, rather than using their current ones. This essay aims to explain the reasons for this behaviour as well as the possible negative impacts on society. The common reason which could mean that people change products unnecessarily is that they are influenced by their community. One particularly prominent example comes in the form of social pressure. This is often seen in the younger generations who notice that their friends have the newest gadgets or fashion accessory. This phenomenon can cause them to crave similar goods and therefore replace their product to keep up with the trends. In addition, a possible reason for this purchasing mentally is the vast advertisements which are commonly posted on social media platforms or on TV. These ads can, hence, incentivise or pressure people follow the trends. Even though some may argue that this throw away society can boost the national economy, I personally believe that the drawbacks are far outweighed than the benefits. One such drawback is that individuals may end up having huge debts from purchasing commodities unnecessarily. Thus, it is not a positive trend for our society as individuals would face credit risk, which also causes the huge burdens on the nations. Furthermore, the dispose of products, such as luxury bags or electrical devices, may cause the environmental degradation. By way of conclusion, the social influences and the advertisements are the main reasons for people following the trends. I once again reaffirm my position that this buying behaviour may cause some individuals getting into debts and then might slow down the economic progression of the nations.