Many people buy products that they do not really need and replace old products with new ones unnecessarily. Why do people buy things they do not really need? Do you think this is good thing?

In recent years, the role of brand new gadgets or consumer goods in everyone's life has become increasingly debatable. It has been contemplated by many individuals that people should stop purchasing irrelevant products or changing the old ones. In this essay, I will highlight my opinion with pertinent examples and I tend to accord with the statement. First and foremost, consumers are usually being triggered and tricked to replace old stuffs or acquire unnecessary goods, turning towards a frequent shopper. That is to say, the power of marketing often nudges them in such a way that they cannot remain in isolation, whereas someone around them might be buying or switching. For instance, there are a growing number of young people in urban areas who change their smartphones in every year because of the intuition to get ahead from everyone else. As a consequence, big corporations hold a negative power, which is irresistible, upon us. The most significant problem is that these buyers may squander their money on such unnecessary items which would have a very little impact. This means that they are not only giving away their hard-earned income to these astute marketers, but also directing themselves towards an insecure future. For example, according to a Harvard University study in 2001, around 75% of South Asian nationalities do not own a safe and sound life after their retirement age because of their extravagant purchasing behaviour. Furthermore, they would not be able to be independent from the market even in the next generation. To sum up, a number leading companies have the ability to tweak our willingness for buying or replacing products because of less control on our mental and spending behaviour, despite the significance these companies in our lifestyle. In my opinion, a very few consumers can shop in a supermarket with a shopping list for their gritty mindset and we should instill it as well.