Many people believe that money is one of the most important factors in a person's happiness.

In our polarised society, many opine that the true reason for happiness is money whereas, others accord that there are other non-materialistic factors such as mental satisfaction and social relationships which will bring happiness. This essay will outline relative agreement that money is important to be happy. Nevertheless, physical and mental health along with strong bonded relationships are equally necessary. To begin with, everything comes with a price in this modern world and happiness is not an exemption. This is because a person has to carter his needs and desires which ultimately makes him happy. One has to pay the price for basic survival: water is also not free in today's world. This situation calls for the want of money which cannot be neglected by any class of people. For instance, lower class will need money for survival, which will make them happy while upper class will require funds to fulfil their luxury needs for happiness. Invariably, a significant contribution is made by money towards raising the bar of happiness in everyone's daily life. Concurrently, the contribution made by other non-monetary variables cannot be overlooked. This sphere will include health and social well-being of an individual. A person needs to take good care of his physic as well as mental stability to be fit inside out. Also, being a social animal, man has to nurture his relations at home or work to address his social needs which will ultimately make him happy. To quote an instance, a recent study at Harvard University stated that the majority of the millionaires with disturbed family life ends up into a phase of severe depression. Ergo, one has to balance health and social life to support and extend the bar of happiness that would have been uplifted by money. In a nutshell, happiness is a subjective matter which varies for every human. The art, however, is to understand personal needs and strive towards achieving it which will not only boost the level of satisfaction and confidence but, also be accompanied by lifelong joy.