Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children.

Every child has a favourite actor or sportsperson or some kind of celebrity whom they follow via various media sources. Some are of the notion that media coverage of these stars has a harmful effect on the children. I completely agree with this notion as children start idolising these celebrities’ life and also they are too naive to understand the struggle required to become a celebrity as media frequently covers just their lavish lives. To start with, when a child thinks of the term “celebrity”, the first image that comes into their mind is a massive house, fancy cars and parties. This is because these things are what they have been seeing at least once a day on some tv channel or newspaper or even between friends discussing. They idolise this lifestyle so much so that they start to unappreciate what they already have. For example, my younger cousin is a huge fan of an Indian actor Ranbir and he idolises him so much that he keeps on asking his parents for the same clothes, apparels and maintains the same hairstyle as Ranbir. This is a major concern as children stop being themselves and try to adopt the personality and lifestyle of celebrities as shown on tv. Hence, young kids try to follow what the media covers which results in them being dissatisfied with what they have. In addition, what the media covers is mostly after these starts have achieved success. They seldom talk about the struggle they had to go through so the young generation believes it’s all about luck in life. To exemplify, almost every kid wants to be a millionaire when they grow up because all they have seen on tv are movie stars, sportsperson, CEOs as they are the subject of most of the screening but what media fail to show is the years of struggle they had to go through to achieve this. Thus, the media failing to tell the naive audience such as these young people about the daunting choices their idols had to take and work they had to do, definitely makes them believe that being famous is based on luck. In conclusion, young minds get influenced quite easily by whatever is shown to them and just showing them the lavish life of celebrities starts to make them feel inferior and they are unaware of hard work it takes to become a celebrity. So media coverage of celebrities can leave a negative effect on young minds.