Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, more and more individuals believe that media attention towards megastars is having damaging effects on youngsters. Children follow their lifestyle as they find their idol in them. This essay will argue about the adverse effects of mass media on the younger generation. To begin with, there is no doubt in accepting that the way mass media showcase celebrities is leading the youth on the wrong path. Media has to cover all the aspects of their life from the flashy to the dark side of life. Celebrities have a high standard of living, which can not be easily maintained by middle class families. Moreover, some of the celebrities are involved in various crimes too. They do have a tendency to live a stressful life, thus more are addicted to drugs. A recent study, on youngsters, has proved that 85% of them are influenced by celebrities. They find their role model in them, thus try to follow their way of living. Owing to celebrities, involvement in illicit habit’s youth is getting more and more influenced to smoking and drinking. They consider these acts as a part of their status symbol. When they are not able to maintain their needs obviously, they fell into the crime world. To conclude, I do agree on the way news channels publishes the contents on celebrities is having a negative impact on children, so they need to adapt right balance in choice of publications.