Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children. with this opinion?

Due to the development of mass media such as televisions and the internet, celebrities can now reach a wider range of audiences and kids are not an exemption. In that sense, many believe that this scenario can have detrimental effects on children. In my opinion, I agree with this claim and the reason for this will be discussed in this essay. A plethora of celebrities promotes certain beauty and personality standards into the media. Since modern media covers almost everything about celebrities lifestyle, their influence on certain aspects such as beauty standards can reach sensitive audiences such as children. As a result, many youths will force themselves to imitate their idols to fit in the celebrities' traditional criteria of beauty even though it has negative impacts on them. For example, children in the Philippines sometimes wear revealing clothes even though it is not appropriate and they do these kinds of actions because it is what they see on media outlets which broadcasts famous people In addition, media coverage of celebrities can create drawbacks when these kinds of people commit inappropriate actions such as sexual offense and violent behaviors. Since these prominent people are influential, they can give children a reason to also commit unsuitable acts. For instance, after the media release the news about a famous man who commits sexual acts against a girl, there has been some records in which children recreate similar events based on what has been broadcast. In conclusion, although media coverage of celebrities is common nowadays, there are drawbacks in specific audiences such as children. Since the young don't have enough maturity and experience, they can be easily influenced by what they see in different media outlets.