Many people believe that it is important to protect the environment, but they make no effort to protect it themselves. Why do you think it is the case? What actions do you think that individuals can do to protect the environment?

Although the vast majority considers it to be essential to preserve the environment, they make no difference to do it on their own. This essay will first demonstrate the reasons behind this, and second suggest some possible solutions. It is true that ordinary people do not have enough opportunities to save nature. The major reason for this is that they have neither power to control traffic, factories, and emissions nor money to fund wildlife conservation programs. Even though local people attempt to keep the countryside unspoilt, they are unlikely to win the case as the government ought to provide the population with necessities by consuming natural resources, which makes it almost impossible for individuals to safeguard the environment. For instance, a group of schoolchildren tried to start a campaign against cutting down trees and polluting the rivers in Switzerland last year, but that action failed for the reasons mentioned above. There are several ways to protect the environment which could be taken by individuals. Firstly, it is highly likely to reduce air pollution by using more public transit instead of driving cars. In this way, not only would they reduce pollution, but they might also solve the problems in relation to heavy traffic in cities. Secondly, people could help to make a big difference to the environment if they recycled as much as possible. This might lead to clean cities and nature because there would be a chance for the government to utilize rubbish again. Finally, every person should attempt to be greener by purchasing products with less packaging, and doing unpaid work to clean up the natural habitats in their locality, therefore these actions would assist individuals in making their thoughts related to green nature become real. In conclusion, there are many factors which reduce the involvement of ordinary people in safeguarding the environment, but a potential solution would be to try to be greener. It is hoped that governments will promote these actions in order to preserve the environment