Many people believe that it is important to protect the environment but they make no effort to protect it themselves Why do you think it is the case What actions do you think that individuals can do to protect the environment

Protect the environment is an obligation to all humans, and humans should be responsible for a variety of environmental problems. Unfortunately, plenty of people do nothing about it although they have realized the importance of protecting the environment. There are several reasons for it and I will further elaborate in this essay. Nevertheless, I believe possible measures could be taken into account to tackle this issue. To begin with, the lack of environmental awareness is the main reason for this phenomenon. Some people have no idea that some of their careless daily behaviors could have devastating effects on the planet. For instance, it is common to see people using over-packaged products, while most of these packages are made in plastics. However, plastic is a non-degradable material and it takes hundreds of years for to be degraded. Furthermore, selfishness also contributes to non-environmental behaviors. For self-centered people, their own benefits and conveniences are the primary concerns and they pin their hopes on others to improve this world. Moreover, this attitude will negatively influence on other people especially to their children, since children are likely to imitate adults. Several measures could be done to address this problem. Firstly, individuals can take public transport rather than driving to reduce the emissions from private vehicles. Secondly, they can choose products with less packaging or products with degradable materials to reduce the impact of non-degradable materials. In addition, households can use several rubbish bins to garbage classification, thus, useful materials can be recycled and reused in order to save energy and raw materials. In conclusion, people lack actions to protect the environment because they lack environmental awareness and being selfish. Nevertheless, individuals are able to make contribution to make this planet better.