Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their countries. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to change this negative attitude towards international tourism?

Tourism has emerged as a huge profitable industry due to a recent steep noticed in the number of international travellers. However, many individuals think that this will adversely affect their countries. In this essay, the reasons behind such negative thinking about international tourism and the efforts needed to alter this view will be discussed. Although tourist activities bring a lot of cash in the pockets of a country, there are some side-effects associated with it. The rising influx of travellers results in environmental degradation as some of them harm the surroundings by throwing litter wherever they want. Moreover, increased construction of hotels and restaurants in order to make profits has deteriorated the quality of air, water and soil. In this way, natural scenic beauty of these exotic places has been ruined. Furthermore, careless behaviour of visiting people is causing damage to the historical sites, as a result, the financial burden of authorities would be increased to maintain and refurbish them. Global tourism has led to numerous unfavourable consequences, yet these troubles can be solved by taking certain measures which could change the opinion of the people. First of all, government agencies should create awareness among the native folks regarding the benefits of vacationing, either by putting up billboards or giving advertisements on local channels. Second of all, proper instructions should be given to the visitors so that they would carefully visit the vulnerable spots and try not to damage them. The last thing is that tourists should respect the culture of the host country and give significance to their social values. To summarise, it can be confidently said that the growing number of foreign travellers creates the fear of culture loss among the indigenous population, but this issue can be managed by making them well-informed regarding the advantages of tourism. Additionally, foreigners themselves should be cautious about protecting the holiday destinations.