Many people believe that individuals are responsible for their own happiness, while others think happiness is dependent on other external factors.

It is often argued that happiness depends on subjective factors, while others feel that the environment plays a key role in defining how full and joyful would be a life. I believe while the outer factors effecting on individual drastically, it still depends on a person how to respond to life challenges and blessings. Life is full of uncontrolled events, which can lead a human to prosperity or destroy everything one has in a day. Undoubtedly, it is nearly impossible to stay optimistic when you lose people you love or face the severe disease. It is proven by a statistical fact that suicide rates rise during the wars, pandemics and economic crisis. However, I believe a human being has a choice to give up or keep fighting when you face troubles because different people react differently to similar situations. Others say that only a person responsible for one's own happiness. People can't determine their future, but they can decide how to perceive it. For example, when my father was told by doctors that he has only a few months left, everybody expected him to be depressed. Nonetheless, he decided to spend the rest of his life enjoying things he loved and working on his book. That is why I think that everybody can be happy no matter how troublesome one's story is. In conclusion, although circumstances affect the way we feel to a great extent, this essay finds that it depends only on a person's actions on how to take adversities and gifts of destiny.