many people believe that formal pen and paper examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. what is your view of examinations?

Nowadays, 'pen and paper' examinations are used popularly in assessing abilities. Some people believe that attaining high marks in these exams are often a sign of intelligence. However, I agree with this for some reason. There are certain advantages to exams. Firstly, writing examinations help to ensure fairness by imposing the same conditions on all exam candidates. People who do well on exams often do well in other types of tasks such as assignments. Secondly, exams include a range of tasks to measure different abilities. For example, there are often have reading and writing skills in an exam. However, exams also have clear drawbacks. Pen and paper exams are often predictable, so that test-takers can prepare by rote learning or focus only on aspects of the curriculum that are likely to be tested. Thus narrowing the educational experience for all. On the other hand, candidates perform poorly in examinations simply because of anxiety, not the lack of knowledge. Several other measures should be taken to address this concern. Because some people express themselves much better verbally than in writing or many people who did badly in exams are successful in fields that require intelligence. Take Bill Gates as an example. Although he quit school, he now is one of the richest people in the world. To sum up, although pen and paper exams have a role to play in assessing intelligence, they have limitations. So, examinations need to be carefully designed and supplement with other forms if they are to be a truly useful component of the education system.